Archive of UserLand's first discussion group, started October 5, 1998.

Re: Bill Joy a credit-taker?

Author:Keola Donaghy
Posted:8/19/1999; 3:23:47 PM
Topic:Today's scriptingNews Outline
Msg #:9697 (In response to 9693)
Prev/Next:9696 / 9698

I have a copy of Hooked On Java, done by members of the Java Development team. It lists these people as the development team:

Chuck McManis, Chris Warth, Herb Jillinek, Tim Lindhold, Arthur van Hoff, Michelle Huff, Jonathan Payne, Frank Yellin, Patrick Chan, Erik Gilber, Eugene Kuerner, Mark Scott Johnson, Richard Tuck, Lisa Friendly, Sami Shaio, Bob Weisblat, James Gosling, Kim Polese and Kathy Walrath.

Joy is thanked in the acknowledgements page, but I didn't see any other reference to him.

Of the authors, van Hoff is credited with co-design of the Applet API (with Shaio) and the author of the Java compiler. Shaio is also credited with the user interface tookit and most of the security mechanism. The third author, Orca Starbuck is not shown on the developer list, but credited as a technical writer for the project.

There are responses to this message:

This page was archived on 6/13/2001; 4:52:00 PM.

© Copyright 1998-2001 UserLand Software, Inc.